Estratti da Life After Theft #4

lat

For starters, the pants were too big; the only thing keeping them from sliding down to my ankles was that appalling sparkly belt balanced on my hipbones. The shirt was covered with the jean jacket that was too small. It only just reached my waistline and was too slim to zip up in the front.
“It’s not for warmth,” Kimberlee protested when I pointed that out. “It’s decor.”
At least she let me wear my old scuffed Doc Martens. “They’re practically vintage,” she said, using the same word that hadn’t been good enough for my jeans and tees this morning.
I didn’t care what she called them as long as she let me wear them.

Per i principianti, i pantaloni erano troppo grandi; l’unica cosa che gli impediva di scivolare sulle mie caviglie era l’orrenda cintura glitterata sui miei fianchi. La camicia era coperta da una giacca di jeans troppo piccola. Arrivava a malapena alla mia vita ed era troppo leggera per chiudere la zip davanti.

“Non è per tenerti caldo”, protestò Kimberlee quando glielo feci notare. “è per bellezza.”

Almeno mi aveva lasciato mettere le mie Doc Martens ormai consumate.
“Sono praticamente vintage.”, disse usando la stessa parola che non era stata abbastanza buona per i miei jeans e la mia t-shirt quella mattina.
Non mi importava come li chiamasse finché me li lasciava indossare.

 

P.s.= ho qualche dubbio sulla traduzione della penultima riga! Suggerimenti?

Rispondi

