Estratti da Life After Theft #17

lat

I almost ran into Mr. Hennigan before I saw him. The one time I really should have listened to Kimberlee.
“In a hurry, are we?” Mr. Hennigan said, pointedly.
I put on my best I-am-an-idiot voice and pointed at my watch. “Late,” I said.
Mr. Hennigan circled me like a vulture. “This wouldn’t have anything to do with the alleged returning of stolen items today, would it?”
“Huh?” I said, trying to look confused. “Oh, the lost stuff. Yeah, no. If I was missing anything, it would still be in Phoenix. I just moved here.” Smooth, suave, and totally stupid sounding. Perfect.
Hennigan looked over the edge of his glasses and studied me. “Oh, yes. Mr… . Mr. Clayson, is it?”
“Yeah, that’s me.”
Frustration passed over Mr. Hennigan’s face, but he only allowed himself a small sigh before he snapped back to attention. “On your way then,” he said dismissively. “You’ve got one minute to get to class before you’re marked absent.”

Quasi mi scontrai contro Mr. Hennigan prima che mi accorgessi di lui. L’unica volta che avrei dovuto veramente ascoltare Kimberlee.
“Siamo di fretta, eh?” disse Mr. Hennigan, con tono accigliato.

Feci la mia migliore voce da  “io-sono-un-idiota” e indicai il mio orologio. “ Sono in ritardo”, dissi.

Mr. Hennigan mi girò attorno come un avvoltoio. “Questo non ha niente a che vedere con il ritorno di oggetti rubati, vero?”

“Huh?” dissi, cercando si sembrare confuso. “Oh, gli oggetti persi. Si, no. Se mi mancasse qualcosa, sarebbe ancora a Phoenix. Mi sono appena trasferito qui.”. Calmo, garbato e con un tono assolutamente da stupido. Perfetto.

Hennigan guardò oltre il bordo dei suoi occhiali e mi studiò. “Oh, si. Mr… Mr. Clayson, vero?”

“Sì, sono io.”

Un velo di frustrazione si dipinse sul volto di Mr. Hennigan, ma si concesse solo un piccolo sospiro prima di recuperare l’attenzione. “Vai per la tua strada allora”, disse sprezzante, “Hai un minuto per andare in classe prima che ti segni come assente”

Rispondi

