Estratti da Life After Theft #21

lat

She paused and looked down at the ground for a few seconds before reluctantly meeting my gaze. “I’m sorry I wasn’t there. I—shouldn’t have stayed away. You probably could have used my help.”
I swallowed hard and nodded again.
She looked down again. “You were right,” she finally said. “You’re doing me this huge favor and the least I can do is be grateful—or at least interested—and stay out of your social life. I—I’ll try to do that from now on.”
I thought I’d heard everything from Kimberlee. Yelling screaming, crying, bad jokes, criticism, whining, shrieking, laughing, but never, ever apologizing.
It was kind of strange. And I didn’t know if I could trust it.

Si fermò e guardò per terra per alcuni secondi prima di incontrare con riluttanza il mio sguardo. “Mi dispiace che non fossi lì. Io – non avrei dovuto sparire. Avresti potuto aver bisogno del mio aiuto.”

Deglutii forte e annuii di nuovo.

Lei guardò di nuovo in giù. “Avevi ragione”, disse infine. “Tu mi stai facendo questo enorme favore e il minimo che io possa fare è essertene grata – o almeno interessata – e starmene fuori dalla tua vita sociale. C—Cercherò di farlo da adesso in poi.”

Pensavo di aver sentito tutto da Kimberlee. Grida, urli, pianti, battute di cattivo gusto, critiche, lamenti, strilli, risate ma mai, mai scuse.

Era un po’ strano. E non sapevo se potevo fidarmi.

Rispondi

