Estratti da Life After Theft #25

lat

Kimberlee griped the whole way down to her parents’ house. “Holy hell, Kimberlee!” I said, my patience finally snapping. “I don’t know what you’re bitching about. You’d think you actually could sleep or something. I’m the one who’s exhausted out of my mind!”
She glared at me. “Just because I can’t sleep doesn’t mean I automatically like mornings,” she retorted. But I could tell that even she knew it was a weak retort.
“Face it,” I said as I trudged through the sand, the chilly morning air cutting right through my hoodie. “This is your project as much as it is mine. What the hell am I talking about? This is your project way more than it is mine. What am I getting out of this? Nothing. Nada.” I turned and looked at her. “I honestly do not know why the hell I am still doing this!” I shouted. I am not a morning person.

Kimberlee si lamentò per tutto il tragitto verso la casa dei suoi genitori. “Che cavolo, Kimberlee!”, sbottai “Non so per cosa tu ti stia lamentando. Tu pensi di poter dormire o che altro. Sono io quello completamente esausto!”

Lei mi lanciò un’occhiataccia “Solo perché non posso dormire non vuol dire che automaticamente mi piacciano le mattine.”, ribeccò. Ma potevo dire che anche lei pensava fosse una scusa patetica.

“Ammettilo.”, dissi arrancando tra la sabbia, l’aria fredda mattutina passava attraverso la mia felpa. “Questo è un progetto tanto tuo quanto mio. Di che cavolo sto parlando? Questo è un progetto molto più tuo che mio. Che cosa ne guadagno io? Niente. Nada.” Mi girai e la guardai. “Sinceramente non so perché diavolo io lo stia ancora facendo!” urlai. Non sono una persona mattiniera.

Rispondi

