Estratti da Earthbound (-26)

earthboundfull

My pace is slow and dragging, but eventually it gets me to Elizabeth’s office, where she invites me in as though it were just another day.
It’s not.
She doesn’t even mention that this appointment is at her request, not mine.
Or that Reese is gone.
The only reason I’m even there is to keep up the appearance that everything is normal—that I’m still the ignorant child they think I am. My emotions are completely muddled; I’m angry and frustrated and confused, and desperation is slowly devouring me from the inside. I know I need to do something; I just don’t know what.

Il mio passo è lento e trascinato, ma alla fine mi porta all’ufficio di Elizabeth, dove m’invita ad entrare come se fosse un giorno come l’altro.

Non lo è.

Non ha neanche menzionato che quest’appuntamento era su sua richiesta, non mia.

O che Reese è sparito.

L’unico motivo per cui sono lì è per continuare a fingere che tutto sia normale – che io sia ancora la ragazza ignorante che loro pensano io sia. Le mie emozioni sono confuse; sono arrabbiata e frustrata e confusa, e la disperazione mi sta divorando dentro. So che devo fare qualcosa; solo non so cosa.

Rispondi

