Estratti da Earthbound (-20)

earthboundfull

I look down at my bowl, trying to get a grip on my anger. I know the truth; they don’t trust me to behave—or maybe survive—while Reese is gone. They want to babysit me.
Maybe I need it.
“Whenever you want. She’ll make time for you.”
“But—”
“It can be fast—she just wants to touch base.”
I say nothing.
And nothing.
Until finally Reese has to ask. “Will you go, Tave?”
I still. There’s something in her question. A wisp of emotion; I’ve heard it before. It screams to me that she cares. Really cares.
But I don’t dare believe it.
“Whatever,” I mutter. “I don’t have anything else to do.” We may as well both lie.

Guardo in basso verso la mia palla, cercando di riprendermi dalla rabbia. Conosco la verità; loro non credono che mi comporterò bene – o che sopravviverò – mentre Reese è andata via. Loro vogliono farmi da babysitter.

Forse ne ho bisogno.

“Quando vuoi. Lei avrà tempo per te.”

“Ma-“

“Può essere veloce – lei vuole solo toccare la base.”

Non dico niente di niente.

Fino a che Reese deve chiedermi “Vai, Tave?”

Rimango ferma. C’è qualcosa nella sua domanda. Un filo di emozione; l’ho già sentita prima. Mi urla che a lei importa qualcosa. Che le importa veramente qualcosa.

Ma non oso crederci.

“Qualunque cosa.” mormoro. “Non ho nient’altro da fare.” Entrambe potremmo aver mentito.

Rispondi

