Estratti da Earthbound (-13)

earthboundfull

But enjoying the scenery is kind of low on my list at the moment. I’m trying to keep my pace up while walking to a steady four-count in my head. One, two, three, four. One, two, three, four. It’s a trick my physical therapist taught me a couple weeks ago.
“Tavia Michaels, you should not have a limp anymore,” she insists. But after months of shying away from the pain, it’s become a habit—my natural cadence even though the pain is gone.
Most days.
Pure physical therapy only gets you so far; now it’s a question of resetting my mind. So I count. A lot.
But my even pace is a little hard to maintain when my eyes are darting to the space above every building, every front door, looking for symbols.
I blink. Was that a flash? I peer harder, blink again. Nope. This time I really am just seeing things. Great.

 

 

 

 

Ma godersi il paesaggio non è ai primi posti sulla mia lista delle cose da fare al momento. Sto cercando di tenere il passo mentre cammino contando nella mia testa a un ritmo fisso di quattro. Uno, due, tre, quattro. Uno, due, tre, quattro. È un trucchetto che il mio fisioterapista mi ha insegnato un paio di settimane fa.

“Tavia Michaels, non dovresti più zoppicare.” Insiste. Ma dopo mesi passati a ignorare il dolore, è diventato un’abitudine – la mia cadenza naturale anche se il dolore è svanito.

La maggior parte dei giorni.

La fisioterapia ti porta fino a questo punto, ora la questione è resettare la mia mente. Quindi conto. Molto.

Ma anche il mio passo è difficile da mantere quando i miei occhi balzano sul tetto di ogni edificio, ogni porta, cercando dei simboli.

Sbatto gli occhi. Era un flash? Osservo più attentamente, sbatto gli occhi di nuovo. No. Questa volta mi sto solo immaginando le cose. Fantastico.

Rispondi

