Estratti da Earthbound (-10)

earthboundfull

Avoiding eye contact with myself, I run my hands through my short, dark hair, but all that does is make it look wild and unkempt. With a sigh I smooth it back down and click my compact closed.
It didn’t used to be short. I wish it would grow faster.
They shaved the right side of my head for surgery, and when the bandages finally came off, it was covered in matted fuzz while the other side was still halfway down my back.
That was the first time I cried. Until then, everything was numb and I felt disconnected—like all this medical stuff was happening to someone else. Someone with no parents and very little chance of a normal life.
Not me.
But the hair. The hair was mine.
And if the hair was mine, the rest of it was too. The broken brain, the dead parents, all of it. Mine.

 

 

 

 

Evitando il mio sguardo, faccio scorrere le mani tra i miei capelli corti e neri, ma questo gesto li fa sembrare selvaggi e arruffati. Con un sospiro li rimetto a posto lisciandoli e chiudendo il mio specchietto.

Non ero abituata ad averli corti. Vorrei che crescessero più in fretta.

Mi hanno rapato la parte destra per l’intervento, e quando mi sono tolta le bende, era coperta di ruvidi capelli cortissimi mentre nell’altro lato avevo ancora i capelli lunghi fino a metà schiena.
Era la prima volta che piangevo. Prima, tutto mi era insensibile e mi non mi sentivo coinvolta – come se tutto questa cura stesse succedendo a qualcun altro. Qualcuno senza genitori e una scarsa possibilità di vivere una vita normale.

Non me.

Ma i capelli. I capelli erano miei.

E se i capelli mi appartenevano anche il resto mi apparteneva. Il cervello rotto, i genitori morti e tutto il resto. Mi apparteneva.

Rispondi

