Estratti da Earthbound (-6)

earthboundfull

“I’ll meet you there,” he says, as though I hadn’t said anything.
“Why can’t you just talk to me?” I ask, exasperated.
He says nothing, only lengthens his stride. “Tell no one,” he hisses.
“Quinn!” I reach for his arm as he turns from the quiet neighborhood street onto a busy boardwalk in the touristy zone, but at the last second he skirts out of reach. I try to follow, but there are people in my way now, though he weaves through them nimbly. My bad leg twinges, as if in warning. I’m not sure I could have caught him even with two good legs.
I curse under my breath. Curse myself, Quinn, my heart and its wild beating. Why can’t he just stay in one place? Or, at the very least, give me a straight answer? In regular English. I guess he’s left me in a better place than the empty street we were on, as it’s hard to lose a tail in a nonexistent crowd, but it wasn’t what I wanted! He knows something and I have to find out what it is. I have a suspicion—a rational one, under the circumstances—that my safety hangs in the balance, and he runs away. Jerk.
Still, based on the direction he took off in, I’m pretty sure he’s going the same place I was headed before I ran into him. And I am not letting him get away this time. Today someone is going to tell me something.

“Ci vediamo li.” Dice, anche se non ho detto niente.

“Perché non puoi parlarmi adesso?” chiedo esasperata.

Non dice niente, si limita ad allungare il passo. “Non dirlo a nessuno.”sibila.

“Quinn!” cerco il suo braccio come gira dalla quieta via del circondario in una un’affollata passerella nella zona turistica, ma all’ultimo secondo schiva la mia presa. Cerco di seguirlo, ma ci sono persone che mi bloccano la strada, nonostante lui faccia lo slalom attorno a loro con agilità. Le gambe mi fanno male, come se mi stessero avvertendo. Non sono certa che avrei potuto raggiungerlo anche con due gambe sane.

Impreco con il fiatone, maledico me stessa, Quinn, il mio cuore e il suo battito troppo veloce. Perché non riesce a rimanere in un posto? O, almeno, darmi una risposta diretta? In un inglese comprensibile? Penso che mi abbia lasciato in un posto migliore rispetto all’altra strada dove ci trovavamo prima, dato che è difficile perdere una traccia in una folla inesistente, ma non era quello che volevo! Lui sa qualcosa e devo scoprire di che si tratta! Ho un sospetto – uno razionale, viste le circostanze – che la mia sicurezza è in bilico e lui corre via. Idiota.

Secondo la direzione che ha preso, sono ancora quasi sicura che sta andando nello stesso luogo in cui ero diretta io prima di incontrarlo. E non lo lascerò scappare via questa volta. Oggi qualcuno dovrà dirmi qualcosa.

Rispondi

