Estratti da Earthbound (-2)

earthboundfull

“You’re doing great,” I say, glad he’s being careful. Whoever’s following us is smart and persistent, and as much as I generally admire both those qualities, I like them much less when they’re working to make me … dead. As we cross the parking lot, I step a little closer to Benson, letting my shoulder brush his. “You’re my Superman.” I reach up and tap his glasses. “Specs and all.”
“I’m no hero,” he says softly.
Feeling bold, I reach down and slip my hand into his instead, entwining our fingers. “You’re my hero.”
He squeezes my hand and unlocks the door, and I try not to feel fluttery about the fact that I’m going into a hotel room. Alone. With Benson.

 

 

 

 

“Stai andando benone.” Dico, felice che stia facendo attenzione. Chiunque ci sta seguendo è intelligente e ostinato, e nonostante generalmente io ammiri entrambe queste qualità, le apprezzo molto meno se queste stanno cercando di…uccidermi. Come attraversiamo il parcheggio, mi avvicino a Benson, lasciando che la mia spalla sfiori la sua. “Sei il mio Superman” allungo il braccio e do un colpetto ai suoi occhiali. “Occhiali e tutto.”

“Non sono un eroe”, dice dolcemente.

Sentendomi audace, allungo in giù la mano e la faccio scivolare nella sua, intrecciando le nostre dita. “Tu sei il mio eroe.”

Lui mi stringe la mano e apre la porta, cerco di non agitarmi per il fatto che sto andando in una camera d’hotel. Da sola. Con Benson.

Rispondi

