Estratti da Earthbound (-3)

earthboundfull

We walk—Quinn heading roughly back in the direction of Camden, but still deep within the trees—for what feels like hours. With nearly numb fingers I check the time on my phone.
I left the car almost an hour ago. I’m so cold I can hardly move my toes, and it’s snowing hard enough I can barely see Quinn just a few feet in front of me.
“Quinn,” I call softly, jogging forward to try to catch up with him yet again. “I can’t go on much longer,” I say, surprised when he lets me draw close. “How far is it?”
But he’s silent, still. I look around, my light flashing narrow beams over the dense forest. We’ve got to be almost two miles from the car, but other than that, I have no idea where I am. I try not to think about how cold I’m going to be by the time I get back.
Or how far up the sun will be.
“There are people—” I stagger and have to take a second to right myself. “People following me. Shooting at me. I can’t just wander off like this. My … friend Benson is still back at the car. Quinn!” I whisper-yell, but my voice is muffled by the fresh powder.
A mound of earth covered in snow, with withered grass barely poking up through it, catches my attention as my light skims over it, and even as I take a step toward it, Quinn is moving with me.
“This way,” he whispers. He gestures to the small hill and I walk, leaves and snow crunching beneath my feet.

 

 

 

 

Camminiamo – Quinn tornando indietro verso Camden, ma sempre attraverso gli alberi – per quelle che sembrano ore. Con le dita quasi intorpidite controllo l’ora sul mio telefono.

Ho lasciato l’auto quasi un’ora fa. Ho così freddo che riesco appena a muovere le dita dei piedi, e nevica così forte che riesco a malapena a vedere Quinn a pochi passi davanti a me.

“Quinn”, lo chiamo dolcemente, correndogli dietro cercando di raggiungerlo di nuovo. “Non resisterò per molto.” Dico sorpresa quando lui mi lascia avvicinarmi a lui. “Quanto manca?”

Ma lui non risponde, rimane fermo. Mi guardo attorno, la mia torcia proietta uno stretto fascio di luce sulla densa foresta. Dovremmo essere a due miglia dalla macchina, ma oltre a questo, non ho idea di dove mi trovo. Cerco di non pensare a quanto avrò freddo quando tornerò indietro.

O quanto sarà alto il sole nel cielo.

“Ci sono delle persone- ” barcollo e ho bisogno di qualche secondo per stabilizzarmi. “Delle persone che mi seguono. Che mi dallo la caccia. Non posso allontanarmi così. Il mio… amico Benson è ancora nella macchina. Quinn!” sussurro-urlo, ma la mia voce è smorzata dalla neve.

Un tumulo di terra coperto di neve, con dell’erba appassita che spunta attraverso di essa, cattura la mia attenzione come il mio fascio di luce la sfiora, e anche se faccio un passo verso di essa, Quinn si muove con me.

“Da questa parte.” Sussurra. Indica la piccola collinetta e cammino, foglie e neve che scricchiolano sotto i miei piedi.

Rispondi

